Diamond Colors

A white diamond is a colorless diamond. The more colorless the diamond, the more valuable it is. The diamond industry uses color scales to classify diamonds. The color scale ranges from D to Z, from colorless to yellow-champagne.

There are also diamonds of various colors: blue, red, pink, green, yellow, black, champagne, cognac, etc. Some are very rare, for example, pink.

Diamonds are classified by color. There are generally “white” diamonds (meaning they are colorless) and colored diamonds (pink, green, yellow, blue, etc.). Diamonds are graded using a code that uses different letters of the alphabet from D to Z. The scales from the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) are internationally recognized.


This scale measures the color of a diamond from D to Z. A D color diamond will be perfectly colorless, while the hue of a Z color diamond leaning towards champagne yellow will affect its brilliance.

For more information about the color of your diamond and its appraisal, you are welcome at Bruxelles Achat d’Or. Our experts will be happy to assist you.

Contact us at: +32 (0) 2 534 40 40

Color refers to the degree to which a diamond is colorless. The rarest and most sought-after diamonds are those with no color, meaning they are colorless. The classification of a diamond’s color is based on the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) color scale, which ranges from the letter D to Z. Color scale according to the GIA (Gemological Institute of America).

















S to Z

Beyond “Z,” the term “Fancy” begins.


Near Colorless


Very Light


Fancy Light


Fancy Intense

Fancy Vivid

This color scale starts from the letter “D,” “D” as in “Diamond.” There is no A, B, or C. The “D” classification (Exceptional White +) is, therefore, the best possible color for a diamond. It corresponds to a completely colorless, hueless diamond.

A diamond can exhibit fluorescence, which refers to its ability to fluoresce under ultraviolet (UV) light. The most common source of UV light is blacklight. When a diamond is exposed to UV light, it may emit a distinct blue fluorescence.

Although fluorescence can exist in different colors (blue, yellow, etc.), blue fluorescence is the most common. The intensity of a diamond’s fluorescence can be categorized as None, Faint, Medium, Strong, or Very Strong. While fluorescence is a measurable characteristic, it is not one of the 4Cs used to evaluate and appraise a diamond.

It is generally preferable to choose a diamond with no strong or very strong fluorescence for diamonds graded from the letter D to I. However, for diamonds with grades lower than I, a diamond with strong fluorescence can be chosen, as this strong fluorescence tends to make the diamond appear whiter than it actually is.

CARAT: The weight of the diamond​

Like gold, a diamond’s weight is determined in carats. This name is derived from the Greek word “keration,” which means a small unit of weight or a small coin. In the past, it was represented by a carob seed, which has remained unchanged in weight over time. It served as a means of trade on the Indian and African coasts.

A carat is further divided into hundredths. Just like the other criteria, carat weight must be considered when valuing a diamond. Laboratories work in partnership to provide certificates for tested diamonds, and measurement tools are required for their codification.

The goal of this thorough examination is to gather all useful information about the diamond. The result, therefore, cannot be disputed as it comes from an institution with proven expertise. There are four renowned laboratories worldwide: HRD in Belgium, IGI in Antwerp, Belgium, GIA in New York and Santa Monica, and FLG in Paris.

Obtaining a certificate can sometimes be costly, but with Brussels Gold Buying, it is carefully factored into our service and always cost-effective. Some tips are provided to keep you well-informed. When choosing a diamond, consider the jewelry design and the number of prongs used to set it. To be more specific, some designs may not be compatible with stones, whether they are large or small. For example, a six-prong diamond ring is more suitable for a significant carat diamond.

If the diamond is small, it may appear invisible when there are too many prongs. Don’t focus solely on the carat weight; instead, maintain a balance between the criteria. It is better to choose a diamond with a lower carat weight to preserve the quality of your diamond. A 5-carat diamond will be more expensive than five 1-carat diamonds. Here is an approximate carat classification scale to give you an idea: 0.030 ct represents about 4.3mm in diameter, and 1.00 ct corresponds to approximately 6.4mm in diameter.